I had the opportunity to receive a package of goodies from a small business specializing in natural skincare. Snowy Owl Cove sent me a very generous package with full size and sample sized products that are good for my combination/oily skin. I have been using these products for about a month and I feel comfortable discussing my results with you guys.

20170327_220528

I have been doing mini reviews of each product on my Instagram, so if you have already seen those posts, some of this may not be new information. I am happy to have the blog where I can discuss each item in a little more detail. I always want to know everything I can about skincare products, so I will try to provide as much information as I can with these reviews. If you have any additional questions about any of the products, please do not hesitate to reach out to me!

Nothing’s Urgent Facial Soap:

I will freely admit, I was not super excited to see a bar facial soap in the package. I have become so used to pumps and squeeze tubes, it makes using a bar seem cumbersome. I was very glad to be proven wrong by this wonder. This photo was taken over a week ago, so with almost 3 weeks of daily use, it barely looks touched! I have used it for another week since and it looks the same size! You certainly get your bang for your buck with the product.

I used it daily at night and I used it in mornings where I did not shower when I first woke up. I didn’t have an extra in-shower soap dish to make it easy to bring in and out of the shower. A little bit of this product goes a long way. It doesn’t lather up much, but you can feel how clean your skin is after use. The real test for me is the toner test. I always look to see if my toner brings up a lot of dirt and oil that my facial wash missed. With this bar soap, there wasn’t much at all. With the cheap cleanser I used in the shower in the morning? Oh yeah, that failed the toner test. This cleaned my skin well without leaving my skin feeling tight or stripped.

Nothing’s Urgent Body Bar Soap:

Even the bar soap has the gorgeous artwork carved into it! Everything was presented so beautifully, I was very impressed by that. This and the facial bar soap don’t really have a scent that I could pick up, but sometimes I can miss it if something has a very, very light scent.

This really CLEANED my body. Almost like that squeaky clean you get from a really good foaming facial wash, but everywhere. I would only use this bar every other day and I would use my Soap and Glory or Dove body washes in between because I really like to get a dose of hydration on my body. I also really liked to use it after using my weekly body scrub, it really helped to get any residue from the scrub off my body without any issues.

I do occasionally have issues with breakouts under my arms, my back and on my legs. I did not experience any breakouts while using this soap. I’ve been using it for about two and a half to three weeks and I have used about 1/3 of the bar. It’s very good lasting power for a bar soap and I plan to use it every other day until it is gone.

Downstream Facial Toner for Oily Skin:

I have been getting really into using toners. When I first started taking more care with my skincare routine, I would always skip toners. It would make me think about the astringents teenagers had forced upon us in middle and high school back in the 90’s. I didn’t particularly wanted to put myself through that again. Finally, once I looked into it, I found that the realm of toners had moved on to something much more practical and less painful. I was especially excited to try this once since it was made for oily skin!

When I opened the product for the first time and looked it, it was nice to actually be able to see the oils and essential oils in the product. I was also a little surprised by the scent. Though it had witch hazel fairly high on the ingredient list, the toner smelled sweet. After using it for a few days, it finally hit me. It smelled just like Fruity Pebbles, my favorite cereal when I was a kid! Trust me, this is not a bad thing in any way and the scent did not linger on your skin after use. It has been something that has made me look forward to using it daily.

Once thing I will say about this product, the first couple times I used it, I did have a strong tingling sensation. This was probably due to the witch hazel in the product. It was not overpowering for me, nor did it burn at all. Within a few days, the feeling was totally gone and I have not experienced it again. If you have very sensitive skin, or a sensitivity to scents or witch hazel, this will not be product for you.

I, however, really enjoy using this toner. It really helps to remove any leftover dirt and oil left on my face after washing it. This is especially helpful in the morning, since I only double cleanse at night. I also notice less oil built up on my skin in the morning when I have regularly used this at night. I still have oily skin, but it is a little more controlled thanks to using this toner. I think the facial bar and toner work really well together to get my skin clean before bedtime.

Nothing’s Urgent Face Cream:

The face cream and body lotion come in these airless pumps. I must admit that I really love the packaging of these products. Not only is the artwork gorgeous, the airless pump feature ensures that you will be able to use all of the product inside without needing to scrape and work too hard to get it out. This face cream was also made for people with combination skin, so I was quite surprised with how thick of a cream it was.

I also enjoyed the scent of this product very much, it smelled very clean and fresh. It reminded me a lot of the Ivory and Olay bar soaps my grandma used when I was a kid. It was a fairly strong scent, but not overpowering and also not one that lingered on the skin. Despite this being a thicker cream, it absorbed very easily into my skin. It didn’t leave a film or a tacky finished on my skin. On days here I did weak face makeup, I did not have any issues applying primer or my powder foundation with this face cream.

I did not have any pore clogging issues or breakouts from this cream. Now that we are moving into the much warmer months, I am planning to transition this over to a night cream and see how it works for the summer. At this point, I am just over halfway done with the product, so it probably won’t even last through the summer.

Raspberries n Cream Body Butter:

From the moment I opened this, I knew I was going to like it. The scent of this body butter is to die for. It smells like actual raspberries, its not overly strong or sickly sweet scented. I am a big fan of the consistency of this product, as you can see from the photo, it is a whipped texture instead of being a solid cream.

I would use this in conjunction with the body lotion that I will discuss next. I used this on areas of my body that needed the extra dose of hydration. My elbows always need extra love, I have the driest elbows ever. This did help to keep the dryness in check. I also used it on my legs and forearms that also get dry easily. I used it on my elbows in the morning and night, but then I applied it in the other areas before bed.

It absorbs into my skin pretty quickly. It takes a few minutes, but it’s a body butter, not something that is supposed to be fast absorbing. This helps my skin to feel smooth, but doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy. I was able to use it and then head right to bed without having to worry about sticking to my sheets.

 

Nothings Urgent Body Lotion:

This is the first time I have used a body lotion that is made for combination skin. This lotion has the same scent as the face cream, which I enjoy very much. This absorbs into the skin very quickly and does not provide a very high dose of moisture. So, I would use this lotion with the body butter at night. I used the body butter on the dryer areas of my skin and then I would use this on areas that only needed a small dose of moisture.

A little bit of this lotion goes a long way as well, so this bottle will last me for quite some time. It will be great to use with the summer months coming. It’s very warm and humid, but I still need to use a lotion to keep my skin happy.

Well, there you have it, folks! I was really happy to be able to try out some natural products and even happier to serve as a sounding board for an independent beauty brand. These products have been a great addition to my skincare routine and I look forward to continue using them in the future.

I hope you will take the time to check out the website for Snowy Owl Cove, or give them a follow on Instagram! I would like to thank them for providing me with these products for review, though all thoughts and opinions are my own!

Check back in a day or two for my April empties post! Until next time, stay beautiful!

